This is the "FCDS Databases" page of the "FCDS Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Tips on searching the library databases.
Last Updated: Jan 17, 2017 URL: http://fcds.libguides.com/content.php?pid=303708 Print Guide RSS Updates

FCDS Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Sources for beginning research

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) takes research to the next level through a perfect combination of content and technology, taking into account all of the critical elements in the research process, and changing the expectations of how a discovery solution can and should address the needs of its users.  EDS searches the library catalog and ALL our online content at one time.

On Campus

Off Campus


****Middle Grade Specific****


SIRS Discoverer is a general reference database for elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas content sets such as reading, language arts, current events, science, social studies, history, health and technology.

World Book Encyclopedia

****Middle Grades and General Reference Only****

The World Book web site offers an encyclopedia, dictionary, atlas, homework help, study aids, and curriculum guides.

 

Academic Search Complete 

 Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

Newsbank

Find news articles covering topics in government, politics, social issues, culture, literature discoveries, inventions and more from hundreds of primary sources . Search using either the timeline or topic search to easily find news and eyewitness accounts and pro/con articles of events, issues and daily life in the colonies or during the Revolutionary War, westward expansion, the Civil War, Reconstruction, industrialization, the Progressive Era, World War I, the Great Depression, Vietnam War, World War II, Civil Rights Movement, Cold War, globalization and other eras. Also included are illustrations, advertisements, classifieds, birth and marriage announcements, obituaries, stories about historic people and other articles exactly as they appeared in print.

Student Research Center

Student Reference Center (SRC) is EBSCO's interface designed for students in grades 6 through 12. Through the Student Research Center, users can pre-determine which content sources (e.g., Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video) will be included with their search. They can also search their databases by topic heading, make use of an online dictionary and encyclopedia, explore the top searches of the day, and limit their search according to appropriate Lexile reading levels.

MAS Complete

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for more than 540 popular, high school magazines. MAS Complete also provides more than 440 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

 

History and Religion

Advanced Placement Source is designed to meet the extensive needs of high school students enrolled in various AP courses. It offers a world of knowledge for students who seek to achieve academic excellence. Advanced Placement Source contains more than 5,550 full-text academic journals and magazines and over 502,000 photos.  Titles include Art Monthly, Art in America, Art Journal, Music Theory and Music Week.

 

 Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

 

The Forties in America (3v): The Forties in Americaoffers a clear and innovative approach to North America during the 1940's. The set covers the full breadth of North American history and culture, with 654 alphabetically arranged, easy-to-understand articles.

Weapons and Warfare: Weapons and Warfare, Revised is designed to meet the needs of students seeking information about weaponry, tactics, and models of warfare from ancient times to the present, worldwide. Written with the needs of students and general readers in mind, the articles contained in this set present clear discussions of the topics, explaining any terms or references that may be unclear. The focus on the technical and strategic development of weapons and tactics, more than on a narrative chronological history of events, allows students of history, political science, science and technology alike to gain a broad understanding of the technological and strategic advances made over time and geography. The new third volume adds the essential dimension of placing these topics in broad social, cultural, and political contexts.

 Containing many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines, this database offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies. This resource provides superior coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography(both dating back to the first issue published).  In addition to keyword searching, users can locate biographies of interest by browsing key categories, including occupation, nationality, publication, and more than 30 genre categories, including actors, artists, athletes, authors, current world leaders, explorers, scientists, and many more.

Designed for academic research, this database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias, and non-fiction books. This content comes from leading history publishers such as Branden Publishing, Compass Point Books, Houghton Mifflin, Lerner Publishing Group, Mason Crest Publishers, Morgan Reynolds Inc., Oliver Press, Oxford University Press, Rourke Publishing LLC, Salem Press, Stackpole Books, and Toucan Valley Publications. Considered one of the most comprehensive full-text databases available.

CultureGrams Online links you to all CultureGrams editions (World, States, Kids, and Provinces) via an engaging, map-based interface that can be accessed anywhere, anytime. Exclusive online features include video clips and slideshows, a worldwide photo gallery, interviews with adults and children, and a unique recipe collection with five local recipes for each country. Plus, create-your-own data tables and charts help put dozens of facts into comparative perspective.

Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

Newsbank

Find news articles covering topics in government, politics, social issues, culture, literature discoveries, inventions and more from hundreds of primary sources . Search using either the timeline or topic search to easily find news and eyewitness accounts and pro/con articles of events, issues and daily life in the colonies or during the Revolutionary War, westward expansion, the Civil War, Reconstruction, industrialization, the Progressive Era, World War I, the Great Depression, Vietnam War, World War II, Civil Rights Movement, Cold War, globalization and other eras. Also included are illustrations, advertisements, classifieds, birth and marriage announcements, obituaries, stories about historic people and other articles exactly as they appeared in print.

American Historical Newspapers

This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.

Gale eBook Collection

From Columbus to Colonial America: Using primary source documents, this volume recounts the early beginnings of the "New World" starting with discovery and colonization of the land that would become the United States.

Encyclopedia of Religion (15v):  Supporting curricula in comparative religions, history, gender studies, arts, anthropology and other disciplines, this updated edition maintains Eliade’s cross-cultural approach while emphasizing religion’s role in everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.

World Religions Reference Library: Religion influences the views and actions of many people, in both political and personal ways. To make sense of many historical and current events, to learn how many people find meaning and purpose in their lives, students and the general public need to understand the development and doctrines of the world's religions. UXL's World Religions Reference Library meets the demand for a thorough, objective resource covering the history, traditions and worldviews of dominant and less prominent religions and their sects and offshoots.

Issues and Controversies   

 Explore current issues and events with in-depth articles made to inspire thought-provoking debates. Topic pages feature the latest related news coverage from Reuters® as well as a variety of helpful background information, from the key pro/con arguments to chronologies of related events to primary source documents. Updated weekly. 

Points of View Reference Center contains 343 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.  Includes medicine,  ethics and global issues.   
JSTOR  is an online archive of core scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines. It provides full text articles from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.
 

Science and Health

GreenFILE

 

Collection of scholarly, government and   general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building,   pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.   Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as   Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

 

Science Reference Center

 This comprehensive research database provides easy access to a wealth of full-text, science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, life science, mathematics, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.

 

AP Source

 Advanced Placement Source is designed to meet the extensive needs of high school students enrolled in various AP courses. It offers a world of knowledge for students who seek to achieve academic excellence. Advanced Placement Source contains more than 5,550 full-text academic journals and magazines and over 502,000 photos, maps and flags.

 

Gale eBook Collection

 

Grzimek’s Student Animal Life Resource (21v) – For decades researchers have turned to Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia for concise accounts of thousands of species, including information on evolution and systematics, physical characteristics, distribution, habitat, behavior, feeding ecology and diet, reproductive biology, conservation status and significance to humans.

Encyclopedia of Biomes (1st and 2nd edition) - This fully-updated print edition of U•X•L® Encyclopedia of Biomes offers detailed comparative essays on Earth's 12 major biomes and their component ecosystems: Coniferous Forest, Continental Margin, Deciduous Forest, Desert, Grassland, Lake and Pond, Ocean Rain Forest, River and Stream, Seashore, Tundra, and Wetland.

Academic Search Complete 

 Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

 

Points of View Reference

 Points of View Reference Center contains 343 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.  Includes medicine, ethics and global issues.

 

 JSTOR  is an online archive of core scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines. It provides full text articles from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.

 

Database Home Passwords

PLEASE access your database usernames and passwords through your HAIKU Library Page.    When working with the online databases on campus you will not need to use a login or password. However, if you are off campus you will need the login and password. Please make sure to use the appropriate link (On Campus/ Off Campus) when selecting databases.

 

English Literature

AP Source

 Advanced Placement Source is designed to meet the extensive needs of high school students enrolled in various AP courses. It offers a world of knowledge for students who seek to achieve academic excellence. Advanced Placement Source contains more than 5,550 full-text academic journals and magazines and over 502,000 photos, maps and flags.

 

Gale eBook Collection

 

Literary Newsmakers for Students (3v):  Provides analysis and criticism of recent novels and other works of fiction, nonfiction, poetry and drama.  Includes works such as:  The Kite Runner, The DaVinci Code and Kira-Kira.

 

Novels for Students (v17- 36): Provides critical overviews of novels from various cultures and time periods.  Includes discussons of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the work's cultural and historical signifigance.  Titles include All the Pretty Horses, Life of Pi and Waterland.

 

 

Poetry and Short Story Reference Center

 Contains more      than 680,000 full-text poems, 54,000 full-text short stories, 10,000 dramatic works and 2,300 audio recordings,      including podcasts from The Poetry      Magazine.

 

Academic Search Complete 

 Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

Literary Reference Center Plus

Combining information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals, and original content from EBSCO, Literary Reference Center Plus features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries and work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books and monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines and journals, book reviews from the most prestigious publications, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more. In addition to all of the content in Literary Reference Center (which we had last year), Literary Reference Center Plus includes full-text resources focusing on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature, and children's literature. This database also includes volumes of fantasy/science fiction, contemporary literature, world philosophy and religious literature, and literary study guides covering American Literature, English Literature, and literary genres. Literary Reference Center Plus also includes Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature, The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, Beacham's Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes), The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, The Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story, and all of MagillOnLiterature Plus.

 

Biography Reference 

 Containing many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines, this database offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies. This resource provides superior coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).  In addition to keyword searching, users can locate biographies of interest by browsing key categories, including occupation, nationality, publication, and more than 30 genre categories, including actors, artists, athletes, authors, current world leaders, explorers, scientists, and many more.

 

 JSTOR  is an online archive of core scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines. It provides full text articles from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.

 

Art and Music

Oxford Art Online offers access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today. Through a single, elegant gateway users can access—and simultaneously cross-search—an expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.

Grove Music Online has been the leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001, a comprehensive compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. Including more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world, Grove Music Online is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music.

 

Advanced Placement Source is designed to meet the extensive needs of high school students enrolled in various AP courses. It offers a world of knowledge for students who seek to achieve academic excellence. Advanced Placement Source contains more than 5,550 full-text academic journals and magazines and over 502,000 photos.  Titles include Art Monthly, Art in America, Art Journal, Music Theory and Music Week.

 

 Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

 

Education/Professional Development

  ERIC

The Education Resource Information Center,   contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 317,000 full-text   documents.

 Education Research Complete   

 Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.

 

Research and Writing Companions

Turnitin

 

Turnitin is the leading originality checking and plagiarism prevention service used by millions of students and faculty, and thousands of institutions worldwide. Turnitin encourages best practices for using and citing other people’s written material. The service offers a complete web-based service to manage the process of submitting and tracking papers electronically, providing better—and faster—feedback to students.  The company’s cloud-based service for originality checking, online grading and peer review saves instructors time and provides rich feedback to students. Instructors and students can now submit any file type to Turnitin for grading online or distributing work for peer review. Submission file types may include PowerPoint® presentations, spreadsheets, images, html code… whatever file type your students use for their assignments, Turnitin will accept it. This exciting new feature allows Turnitin to be used by a broader range of instructors: those who evaluate presentations or teach in disciplines such as science, math, economics, and visual arts.

 

 

NoodleTools

NoodleTools is a web-based student research service that helps correctly cite sources in MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian citation styles. Use NoodleTools throughout a research project to track sources, take notes, create outlines, collaborate with classmates, and format and print your bibliography.

Williams Library Discovery Center Forsyth Country Day School Lewisville, NC 27023 336.945.3151
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip