Female Based BiographyCultural BiographiesAuthors and ArtistsPeople in Math and Science
Finding Lit by Theme/Characteristics12th Grade -Term Essay9th Grade Poetry
Historical EventsBiographical ResearchAncient Greece
This is the "Home" page of the "Upper School Assignments" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Upper School Assignments  

Last Updated: Feb 1, 2017 URL: http://fcds.libguides.com/content.php?pid=327511 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quoting vs. Paraphrasing

Refresh your memory on the difference between quoting, paraphrasing and summarizing.

 

Web Evaluation

You should follow this process EVERY time you use a website for information!

 

Copyright Information

The Rule of Thumb: When in doubt, ask permission.  "But what about Fair Use?" "If it is for education, my students and I can use it right?".  Not exactly.   The fair use doctrine was created to allow the use of copyrighted works for criticism and commentary, parody, news reporting, research copyrighted materials  and scholarship, and classroom instruction.  Many educators, however, falsely interpret the fair use doctrine as freedom to use anything they find on the web or Google and call it "instructional". 

Read more on our Copyright Guide.

Use the Fair Use Checklist as well!

     

    First things first.....

    Usually, the first thing  a student does when a project or paper is assigned, is hop on the internet and then go to GOOGLE. 

    Google is an acceptable search engine for: a) minor projects and questions that do not require citations; b) to get an overview of topic; or c) to look for something specific. 

     Projects and papers that are assigned at FCDS should mimic the same focus and methods of college level students. Learning to research effectively now will allow you to both reduce frustration and time in finding adequate scholarly materials to base an assignment on and decrease the level of anxiety using academic and scholarly sources at the college/university level.  

    Focused academic search engines are more likely to return valid and reliable results and decrease the chance of you finding misinformation.  After you have used the available print and databases sources, then try Sweet Search or WebPath Express for your searching needs!

     

    Next....

    • Evaluate your time
      • Mark your due dates and other important dates on your calendar.  Create the appointments in your phone with a reminders 24 hours in advance.
      • Mark 1 week before the final is due to strive for a rough draft.  Once you have your rough draft completed give it to a friend or teacher to proof read.
    • Manage Materials
      • Have a binder/folder that you will be able to keep all your printed materials.
      • Create your NoodleTools account and make sure you can login.  Enter your TO DO LIST, TOPIC, DUE DATE etc.
      • Brainstorm ideas that you can research. Information is not found how YOU want to find it, so look for synonyms, broader ideas or time periods to use in your search strategy.
      • Remember to copy source information from everything that you use, including page number and access date!
    • Keep Notes Organized
      • Determine how you will keep your notes organized.
        • Do you like notecards?  Then make sure to have them on your first research day.
        • Do you like notemaking?  Make sure to have your different color pens/pencils with you
        • Do you like using NoodleTools?  Make sure you still have a place for your print material information!
      • Refresh your understanding of Paraphrasing, Quoting and Summarizing.
     

    Organization is KEY!

    Organization is the #1 factor in research.

    Make sure you keep your information organized!

    • Create a folder in your email account for your class.
    • Find a bright colored folder to place your photocopies and notes in (this way you won't lose it if it is sitting on your desk!)
    • In each of our databases, EMAIL the article and citation to yourself.
    • Use NOODLETOOLS to help format citations and begin an outline.
    • Use Sonofacitationmachine if you just need quick help on MLA format and have all the information you need to create the citation (this includes the ISBN #).
    • If you are using a book, PHOTOCOPY the title page and write the copyright date and page #s that you have used.
     

    Begin your Research

    Almost always, begin with a print source.

    A subject specific encyclopedia or dictionary is the BEST place to start searching.  These differ from general encyclopedias and dictionaries because they are created by SUBJECT specialist in the field.  Most of the time, these sources are found in the Reference Section or Reserve Section of the library.  Use the ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOG as well.

    Next, work through the online databases that are available. 

    Online databases, like subject specific resources, are selected and purchased because of the reliability of the resources.  If you are unsure what databases would be useful, click on the Databases link on the left for a list of databases arranged by subject.

    Last, you should look at the Internet.

    Websites require more thought process to determine their validity and reliability.  Websites may be published by anyone, about anything, at anytime.  Use the CACOA method to determine if the site should be used as a credible source.

    Make sure you know the proper Searching Techniques for the website.

    Williams Library Discovery Center Forsyth Country Day School Lewisville, NC 27023 336.945.3151
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip