Short Stories: Home/WLDC

Provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the 1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions, including the ancient Near East, Egypt, Greece, and Rome; ancient and medieval Africa, Asia, and the Americas; and medieval Europe and the Islamic World. Each civilization’s history is brought to life through tablet/mobile-friendly videos and slideshows, primary sources, maps and graphs, timelines, suggested readings, and suggested search terms.

Includes From Columbus to Colonial America: Using primary source documents /
Encyclopedia of Religion (15v): Supporting curricula in comparative religions, history, gender studies, arts, anthropology and other disciplines /
World Religions Reference Library: historical and current events, development and doctrines of the world's religions /Literary Newsmakers for Students (3v): Provides analysis and criticism of recent novels and other works of fiction, nonfiction, poetry and drama.
Novels for Students (v17- 36): Provides critical overviews of novels from various cultures and time periods. Includes discussons of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the work's cultural and historical signifigance.

An Unbiased, Comprehensive Guide to the World’s Major Religions and Spiritual Traditions.

This electronic edition of the popular encyclopedia includes articles that bring together the story, multimedia content, an article outline, research aids and links to related information. Online updates to articles and a "Month in Brief" time browser are also available.

Offers a comprehensive resource for the study of literature, with curated content from authoritative sources. The wide range of material in this award-winning database includes content from Facts On File's extensive literature collection; hundreds of Harold Bloom's essays examining the lives and works of great writers; thousands of critical articles published by noted scholars under the Bloom's Literary Criticism imprint; extensive entries on literary topics, themes, movements, genres, and authors; more than 4,300 video clips; more than 2,700 full-text poems; and more than 9,000 discussion questions on a range of literary topics. A Performance Video gateway page provides easy access to all full-length videos of classic productions—which can be watched either in their entirety or scene by scene using the convenient clips.

A full-text resources focusing on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature and children's literature. This database also includes volumes of fantasy/science fiction, contemporary literature, world philosophy and religious literature, and literary study guides covering American Literature, English Literature and literary genres.

Collection of hundreds of thousands of classic and contemporary poems, as well as short stories, biographies and authoritative essays on such topics as poetic forms, movements and techniques — including contemporary content from the finest publishers.

JSTOR is an online library of trusted academic research. It includes thousands of journals, ebooks, and primary sources. Used at over 5,000 colleges and universities, JSTOR encompasses over 75 disciplines.

Covering a wide array of subject areas from the arts and multicultural studies to the STEM subjects, Advanced Placement Source offers students the essential research materials to achieve academic success in honors, AP or IB programs.

A Comprehensive list of the databases available from our EBSCO collection. Just click the database(s) you would like to search, or search the whole collection, for the information that you need.