LibGuides: Primary/Secondary/Tertiary Sources: Online Web Collections

American

BGSU First Person Accounts
First person accounts, including diaries, oral histories, letters, memoirs, etc
BGSU Library Links
One of the most comprehensive lists of internet websites containing primary source materials organized by era in American History.
Digital Public Library of America
Photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States including art, architecture, performing arts.
LIFE Magazine
Photographic magazine that chronicled the 20th Century. Amazing collection of professional photography on the internet and images are free to share, print and post.
Making of America
From Cornell University - primary sources from Antebellum to Reconstruction.
Miller Center Primary Sources
Significant moments in US history as curated by scholars. (from UVA)
National Archives
Thousands of American primary sources. You can use one of the guides to browse, or search in the top corner.
Google News Archive
Literally flip through newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Caveat: Items are arranged by the name of newspaper and not by subject or country of origin.

Haithi Trust
Digitized books and articles through early 20th century. Search for "personal narratives" for primary sources.
Fordham University
Full text documents through World History. Some links require subscriptions to access documents.
Avalon Project
Digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government from 4000BC - 2000AD.
Google Arts and Culture
1200 leading museums have partnered with Google to bring these treasured items online.

Documents in World History
From UNC-P. Collection and citations of primary sources.

Women in World History
Over 200 primary source materials about women in the world.
EuroDocs
European Country Document Archive
World Digital Library
From the LOC.

IF you must Google for a primary source, make sure to include these keywords in your search term:

Example: Walt Disney Correspondence provides results including a letter from Walt Disney to Richard Nixon dated 1956